

# **PhD in Statistics Students' Awards**

#### Filippo Ascolani (PhD graduation 2024)

"2024 Lawrence D. Brown Award" by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.

## Filippo Ascolani and Francesco Gaffi (PhD graduation 2023)

"2023 Best Student Paper Award" by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis and the Section on Bayesian Statistical Sciences of the American Statistical Association. Awarded papers

Filippo Ascolani: Nonparametric priors with full range borrowing of information Francesco Gaffi: Partially exchangeable stochastic block models for multilayer networks

Marta Catalano (PhD graduation 2021) and Sirio Legramanti (PhD graduation 2021) "2021 Best Student Paper Award" by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis and the Section on Bayesian Statistical Sciences of ASA. Awarded papers Marta Catalano - Measuring dependence in the Wasserstein distance for Bayesian nonparametric models

#### Sirio Legramanti – Bayesian cumulative shrinkage for infinite factorizations

## Marta Catalano

**SOCCON** 

- "2021 IMS New Researcher Travel Award" by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.
- "2021 Blackwell-Rosenbluth Award" by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis for early career researchers.

# **Tommaso Rigon** (PhD graduation 2020))

"2020 L.J. Savage Award - Theory & Methods" awarded by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA) and the American Statistical Association (ASA) for the best PhD thesis in Bayesian Statistics and Econometrics. Title of the PhD dissertation "Finite-dimensional nonparametric priors: Theory and applications"

# Giovanni Rabitti (PhD graduation 2020)

"Italian Young Researcher Award of ICA 2018", at the International Congress of Actuaries, Berlin, June 4-8, 2018, based on the paper titled "Financial Instruments for Mitigation of Flood Risks: The Case of Florence"

#### **Paolo Leonetti** (PhD graduation 2019)

- "ISFE Medal" awarded for outstanding contributions to the 56<sup>th</sup> International Symposium on Functional Equation 2018, June 17-24, 2018, Graz-Mariatrost, Austria
- "Best Lecture Presentation Award" at the 20th International Workshop for Young Mathematicians "Number Theory", September 17-23, 2017, Jagiellonian University, Cracow, Poland

## Xuefei Lu (PhD graduation 2019)

"SIAM Student Travel Award" received for the 2018 SIAM Conference on Uncertainty Quantification (UQ18), April, 16-19, 2018, California, USA.

# Amir Khorrami Chokami and Michele Peruzzi (PhD graduation 2019)

Winners of the "Statistics Under the Stars" competition, Padova, September 8-9, 2015 (best overall project, best prediction and best model).

# Lorenzo Cappello (PhD graduation 2018)

- "Best poster award" at the 11<sup>th</sup> Conference on Bayesian Nonparametrics (BNP 11), École Normale Supérieure, Paris, June 26-30, 2017
- "2018 ASA-SBSS Student Paper Award" by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis and the Section on Bayesian Statistical Sciences of ASA.

# Giulia Marcon (PhD graduation 2016)

- With Isadora Antoniano Villalobos and Simone Padoan won the best poster presentation in the category "methods" among all young researchers in the 10th Conference on Bayesian Nonparametrics, June 22-26, 2015, Raleigh, NC, USA, based on the paper titled "Bayesian inference for multivariate dependence structure in extreme value theory".
- Best Poster Award of the METMA VII GRASPA14 conference (Torino, September 10-12, 2014) with Simone Padoan, Philippe Naveau and Pietro Muliere, based on the paper titled "Nonparametric Estimation of the Pickands Dependence Function using Bernstein Polynomials".

## Sara Kathryn Wade (PhD graduation 2013)

Winner of the **2014 Prize for the best PhD thesis** in Statistics, Applied Statistics and Demography, awarded by the Italian Statistical Society (SIS), for her doctoral thesis on *"Bayesian nonparametric regression through mixture models"*.

She is also a finalist for the **Savage Award 2014**, awarded by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA) and the American Statistical Association (ASA) for the best PhD thesis in Bayesian Statistics and Econometrics.

#### Lorenzo Trippa (PhD graduation 2009)

He won the **Savage Award 2008** (Theory and Methods) for the best PhD thesis in Bayesian Statistics and Econometrics, awarded by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA), for his doctoral thesis "Some extensions of the Pólya urn scheme with Bayesian applications"

# Pierpaolo De Blasi (PhD graduation 2006)

He was awarded a honorable mention for the **Savage Award 2006** (Theory and Methods) by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA), for his doctoral thesis on "*Semiparametric models in Bayesian Event History Analysis*".